Jan­u­a­ry 2, 1828, Thorn­ton, New Hamp­shire.

No­vem­ber 28, 1904, Cleve­land, Ohio.

Lake View Ce­me­te­ry, Cleve­land, Ohio.

R. E. Jer­e­my.


Rankin attended Mid­dle­bu­ry College, Ver­mont, and An­do­ver The­o­lo­gi­cal Sem­in­a­ry.

After ordination in 1855, he held pastorates in New York; St. Al­bans, Ver­mont; Charles­town, Mas­sa­chu­setts; at the First Con­gre­ga­tion­al Church in Wash­ing­ton, DC, for 15 years; and at the Valley Con­gre­ga­tion­al Church, Orange, New Jer­sey. In 1889, he became president of How­ard Un­i­ver­si­ty, Wash­ing­ton, DC. His works in­clude:

  1. Drifting Away from Jesus
  2. Fair Freedom’s Land
  3. Far Up the Heights of Glory
  4. God Be the Nation’s Guide
  5. God Be with You Till We Meet Again
  6. Heralds of Jesus
  7. How Can I but Love Him?
  8. In Sight of the Crystal Sea
  9. Keep Your Colors Flying
  10. Laboring and Heavy Laden
  11. More Than Conquerors
  12. O Prodigal, Don’t Stay Away
  13. On Easter Morn
  14. Out and Out for Jesus
  15. Out of Zion May God Bless Thee
  16. Rest, Rest, Rest, Brother, Rest
  17. Soldier of Christ
  18. Sweet! Sweet! Sweet the Swell!
  19. Take a Stand for Jesus
  20. Tell It to Jesus
  21. Watch Between My Soul and Thee
  22. Who’ll Take the Ranks?