Ju­ly 9, 1799, Exeter, New Hampshire.

May 28, 1847, Springfield, Mas­sa­chu­setts.

Oliver attended Harvard Un­i­ver­si­ty, taught at an academy in Exeter (1817–18), then studied theology at the Cambridge Divinity School. He began preaching in 1819, and became pastor of the Unitarian church in Springfield, Mas­sa­chu­setts, where he served the rest of his life. He had a twin brother, Oliver William Peabody, who was also a Unitarian minister (at Burlington, Vermont), and also died in 1847.

Peabody’s works in­clude:

  1. As Once the Savior Rose on High
  2. Behold the Western Evening Light
  3. Black the Heaven Is Overcast
  4. Dying Year, The
  5. Father, I Thank Thee for Thy Care
  6. For Us, God’s Only Son
  7. God in Whom I Ever Trust, The
  8. God of the Earth’s Extended Plains
  9. God of the Fair and Open Sky
  10. God of the Rolling Orbs Above
  11. He Made the Sun, and Gave Him Light
  12. High in the Heavens God Dwells Alone
  13. How Beautiful, on All the Hills
  14. How Fast the Rapid Hours Retire
  15. I Sin, Whenever I Pursue
  16. Midnight Winds Are Sounding Loud, The
  17. Moon Is Up: How Calm and Slow, The
  18. My God, by Thy Directing Power
  19. My God, by Thy Protecting Power
  20. O When the Hours of Life Are Past
  21. O Who That Has Gazed in the Stillness of Even
  22. See the Streaks of Daylight Swim
  23. Son of God Came Down from Heaven, The
  24. When Brighter Suns and Milder Skies
  25. Who Is Thy Neighbor?

Peabody’s burial place