September 14, 1737, Rohrau, Austria.

August 10, 1806, Salzburg, Austria.

Petersfriedhof, Salzburg, Austria.


Johann was the brother of composer Franz Haydn.

He began singing as a chorister at St. Ste­phen’s, Vi­en­na, around 1745. While there, he studied violin, clavier, and counterpoint.

In 1757, he was appointed to the court of the Bishop of Gross­ward­ein (now northern Ro­ma­nia). In 1763, he won an appointment as Kon­zert­meis­ter to Archbishop Schrat­ten­bach of Salzburg. He also played the organ at the Drei­fal­tig­keits Church in Salz­burg, and taught violin at the court.

The Royal Swed­ish Academy of Music inducted him in 1804. Haydn’s works include over 400 pieces of religious music, plus:

  1. Befiehl
  2. Greenland
  3. Holy Communion
  4. Lyons
  5. Newbury
  6. Offertorium
  7. Salzburg
  8. Venice
  9. Worship