January 26, 1800, Middleton Cheney, Northamptonshire, England.

July 4, 1874, Easington, Yorkshire, England.

York Minster, England.

Churton attended Charterhouse and Christ Church College, Oxford, where he graduated with honors in 1821. He was for some time one of the Masters at Charterhouse, then took Holy Orders in 1826. He was the first Head Master of the Hackney Church of England School (1830); Rector of Crayke, North Yorkshire (1835); Prebendary in York Cathedral (1841); and Archdeacon of Cleveland (1846). His works include:

  1. Come, Arise and Let Us Go
  2. Earth, with All Thy Thousand Voices
  3. For Ever, Lord, Thy Faithful Word
  4. God of Truth, All Faithful Lord
  5. God My Hope, My Strength, My King
  6. God of Grace, O Let Thy Light
  7. God Rules in Realms of Light
  8. How Shall I Render to My God
  9. I Lift Mine Heart to Thee
  10. If Our God Had Not Befriended
  11. In Thee, O Lord, I Trust
  12. Lord, Hear Me, Grant My Sorrows Boon
  13. Lord, Hear My Suppliant Prayer
  14. Lord, Hear the Voice of My Complaint
  15. Lord, I Have Called on Thee
  16. Lord, My Heart Is with the Lowly
  17. Lord, My Rock, to Thee I Cry
  18. Lord, to My Sad Voice Attending
  19. O Happy State on Earth to See
  20. O Praise the Lord, for He Is Love
  21. O Stand in Awe, and Fear to Sin
  22. Raise the Psalm: Let Earth Adoring
  23. ’Tis the Day All Days Exceeding
  24. To Thee Our Guilty Deeds
  25. Whene’er to Thee I Make My Prayer
  1. Story of the Shepherd, The