November 21, 1837, Batavia, New York.

September 5, 1900, Batavia, New York.

Batavia Cemetery, Batavia, New York.


Yates worked at a number of jobs, including shoe salesman, newspaper editor, and hardware store manager. He became a Methodist minister in 1886, and later pastor of the West Bethany Free Will Baptist Church. His works include:

  1. Faith Is the Victory
  2. Harbor Bell, The
  3. Holy Spirit, Lead Us Now
  4. Long Years Ago One Winter’s Night
  5. Model Church, The
  6. O Christian, Speed Thee on Thy Way
  7. O Refreshing Times Are Coming
  8. O the Beautiful Hills of the By-and-By
  9. O the Mansions of Light
  10. O Welcome Hour of Prayer
  11. Old Book Stands, The
  12. Our Name’s in Heaven
  13. Room for Jesus
  14. Secret Place, The
  15. Story That Never Grows Old, The
  16. This I Know
  17. Victorious Love
  18. We Are Coming, Precious Savior
  19. Without Thee, My Savior