February 11, 1717, Pantycelyn, Wales.

January 11, 1791, Pantycelyn, Wales.

Llanfair (about a mile north of Llandovery), Carmarthenshire, Wales).


Known as the Sweet Singer of Wales, Williams was ordained a deacon of the Established Church in 1740 by Dr. Claget, Bishop of St. David’s, and for three years served the curacies of Llanwrtyd and Llanddewi-Abergwesyn; he never received Priest’s Orders. He became early acquainted with the revivalist Daniel Rowlands, and for 35 years preached monthly at Llaullian, Caio, and Llansawel, beside making preaching journeys in north and south Wales. He was held in great esteem as a preacher. His works include:

  1. Awake, My Soul, and Rise
  2. Beneath Thy Cross I Lay Me Down
  3. Cymer, Iesu, Fi Fel’ Rydwyf
    • Take Me as I Am, O Savior
  4. Dros y Brinian Tywyl Niwliog
  5. Enormous Load of Human Guilt, The
  6. Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah
  7. Hark! The Voice of My Beloved
  8. Jesus, Lead Us with Thy Power
  9. Jesus, My Savior Is Enough
  10. Jesus, Whose Almighty Scepter
  11. Mae’r Faner Fawr Ymlaen
  12. My God, My God, Who Art My All
  13. O Flaen y Fainc Rhaid Sefyll
  14. O llefara addfwyn Iesu
  15. Savior, Look on Thy Beloved
  16. White and Ruddy Is My Beloved
  1. Pererin