October 10, 1815, Medford, New Jersey.

July 16, 1895, Ocean Grove, New Jersey.

Methodist cemetery on the Kings Highway, Haddonfield, New Jersey.


Stokes was president of the Ocean Grove Campmeeting Association. His works include:

  1. Alas, Alas a Wayward Sheep
  2. All Are Mine, Thou Holy Jesus
  3. All the Promises of Jesus
  4. Beautiful Zion, Strong
  5. Blessed Joys of God Begin
  6. Come, Power of God
  7. Fill Me Now
  8. From the Gloom of Unbelief
  9. Hail, Thou Ever Rolling Ocean
  10. He Is Risen, Christ the Holy
  11. I Believe That Jesus Suffered
  12. I Have Sinned, O God, My Savior
  13. I Know There’s a Beautiful, Beautiful Land
  14. I Love My Savior
  15. I Sat on the Bridge at the Edge of the Wildwood
  16. I’m Saved, I’m Saved, O Blessed Lord
  17. It Was Said, and O, I Can Hardly Tell
  18. Jesus Is Good to Me
  19. Jesus Loves Me, Fondly Loves Me
  20. Master Is Calling for You, Dear Friend, The
  21. My Native Land
  22. My Soul for Light and Love and Earnest Longings
  23. No Room
  24. O Blessed Jesus, O Savior Divine
  25. O Hear the Words of the High Command
  26. One by One, Our Loved Ones Slowly Pass
  27. One Year Nearer
  28. Peter on the Troubled Sea
  29. Put on the White Robes of Gladness
  30. Saints of God Are Marching On, The
  31. Salvation Is the Battle Cry
  32. Sinless Land, A
  33. Spirit of Life, We Humbly Bow
  34. Swing of Conquest, The
  35. There’s a Song in My Heart I Have Loved
  36. Thou Art Pure, O God, My Father
  37. Though There May Be Shades of Sadness
  38. Touch My Spirit with Thy Spirit
  39. We Have Toiled in Many Vineyards