Harriet Krauth

September 21, 1845, Baltimore, Maryland.

May 5, 1925, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Mount Vernon Cemetery, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Harriet was the daughter of hymn translator Charles Krauth.

She attended the Girls’ School in Philadelphia, and lived independently as a writer. In 1880, she married Adolph Spaeth, pastor of St. Johannis Church in Philadelphia (and later president of the General Council of the Lutheran Church in America). She sang contralto, played the piano and organ, and for many years was the organist at St. Stephen’s Church in west Philadelphia. She provided hymn translations for The Church Book (1868), The Sunday School Hymnal (1901), and was responsible for the music edition of The Church Book (1872). Many of her essays were published in The Lutheran. When American Lutherans adopted the Common Service in 1888, she prepared an edition with notes for chanting the service. She worked zealously for the founding of the Krauth Memorial Library at the seminary in Philadelphia, and was active in the work of the Mary J. Drexel Home, the Lankenau Hospital, and the Lutheran Orphans’ Home in Germantown, Pennsylvania. Her works include:

  1. Church Bells Ring, Sweet Birds Sing
  2. Glory to God upon His Throne
  3. God Crowned Thee, Lord
  4. I Am Jesus’ Little Lamb
  5. I Will Take the Path
  6. Jehovah Thee to Praise
  7. Let Me Go
  8. Lo on a Mount a Tree Doth Stand
  9. Lord, in the Kingdom of Thy Grace
  10. O Jesus, Holy Child Thou Art
  11. O Sing, All Ye Lands, with a Jubilant Voice
  12. O Wake Our Hearts, in Gladness Sing
  13. Praise Ye the Lord, in Simple Joyous Measure
  14. Whom Jesus Loves
  1. As Each Happy Christmas
  2. Behold, a Branch Is Growing
  3. Glory to God upon His Throne
  4. Lord Jesus Christ, My Savior Blest
  5. Lord, Who Can Be with Thee Compared?
  6. O Sing, All Ye Lands, with Jubilant Voice
  7. O Son of God, in Co-Eternal Might
  8. Thy Little Ones, Dear Lord, Are We
  9. Ye Lands, to the Lord Make a Jubilant Noise

where to get Spaeth’s photo