February 5, 1821, London, England.

January 20, 1884, Ewelme, Oxfordshire, England.

Phillimore was the fifth son of Joseph Phillimore, regius professor of civil law, and brother of Sir Robert Joseph Phillimore, judge of the admiralty court. Greville attended Westminster School, London; Charterhouse, Godalming; and Christ Church, Oxford (BA 1842, MA 1844). Taking Holy Orders, he was Curate successively at Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, and Shiplake, Oxfordshire. In 1851, he became Vicar of Down-Ampney, Gloucestershire (birth place of composer Ralph Vaughan Williams). In 1867 he returned as Rector to Henley, and in July 1883, he accepted the crown living of Ewelme. His works include:

  1. Christ, Through Grief and Toil We Come
  2. Darkly Frowns the Eastern Sky
  3. Every Morning Mercies New
  4. Lonely in Her Virgin Home
  5. O Fear Not, Little Flock
  6. O God, Before Thy Sun’s Bright Beams
  7. O God, the Weary Path of Life
  8. O Lord of Glory, King of Saints
  9. O Lord of Life and Health
  10. Peace Be in the House of Death
  11. Saul, Why Such Furious Hate
  12. Thou Art Gone Up on High
  1. Star of Morn Has Risen, The