September 28, 1824, Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, England.

October 24, 1897, Kensington, London, England.

Barnes Cemetery, London, England.


Palgrave was educated at Charterhouse (1838–43) and at Oxford, where he graduated in first class Classical Honors. He was a scholar of Balliol (1842) and Fellow of Exeter (1846). He worked in the Education Department of the Privy Council until 1884, being also Private Secretary to Lord Granville (then Lord President). In 1885, he was elected Professor of Poetry at Oxford. His works include:

  1. Christ in His Heavenly Garden
  2. Christ, Who Art above the Sky
  3. High in Heaven the Sun
  4. Hope of Those Who Have None Other
  5. Lord God of Morning
  6. Lord, How Fast the Minutes Fly
  7. O God, Who When the Night Was Deep
  8. O God, Who When Thy Cross Was Nigh
  9. O Light of Life
  10. O Thou Not Made with Hands
  11. Once Man with Man
  12. Star of Morn and Even
  13. Thou Say’st, Take Up Thy Cross
  14. Thou That Once, on Mother’s Knee
  15. Though We Long, in Sin Wrought Blindness
  16. Thrice-Holy Name
  17. We Name Thy Name, O Lord