October 10, 1841, Franklin County, Ohio.

October 14, 1897, Toledo, Ohio.

Woodlawn Cemetery, Toledo, Ohio.

When Ogden was six years old, his family moved to Indiana. He began studying music in local singing schools at age 8, and could read church music fairly well by age 10. A little later, he could write a melody by hearing it sung or played. When he was 18, he became a chorister in his home church.

At the outbreak of the American civil war, Ogden enlisted in the 30th Indiana Volunteer Infantry. During the war he organized a male choir, which became well known throughout the Army of the Cumberland.

After the war, Ogden returned home and resumed his musical studies. Among his teachers were Lowell Mason, Thomas Hastings, E. E. Baily, and Benjamin F. Baker, president of the Boston Music School. As his skills developed, Ogden issued his first song book, The Silver Song, in 1870; it became immensely popular, selling 500,000 copies. He went on to publish numerous other song books.

In addition to composing, Ogden taught at many schools in the United States and Canada. In 1887, he became superintendent of music in the public schools of Toledo, Ohio. His works include:

  1. Baptize Us Anew
  2. Birth of Christ the Lord
  3. Everlasting Life
  4. He Is Able to Deliver Thee
  5. I’ve a Message from the Lord
  6. On a Christmas Morning
  7. Power to Save
  8. Ring Out the Bells for Christmas
  9. Scattering Precious Seed
  10. Seeking the Lost
  11. Unto You Is Everlasting Life
  12. Where He Leads I’ll Follow
  13. Working, O Christ, with Thee
  1. All Things Are Ready
  2. Bright and Morning Star, The
  3. Bright Forevermore, The
  4. Bring Them In
  5. Clark’s Grove
  6. College Station
  7. Come to the Feast
  8. Eye of Faith, The
  9. Gather Them into the Fold
  10. Gathering Home
  11. Go Tell the Glad Tidings
  12. Gracious Redeemer, The
  13. Keep Step with the Master
  14. More Than Conquerors
  15. South Bend
  16. Star in the East
  17. Steer Toward the Light
  18. Suffer the Children to Come
  19. Tell It Out with a Shout
  20. There Is Joy
  21. We’ll Work