Feb­ru­a­ry 12, 1853, The Mote, Ightham, Kent, Eng­land.

De­cem­ber 26, 1918, Winterton, Lincolnshire, Eng­land.

St. Alkmund’s churchyard, Blyborough, Lincolnshire, Eng­land.


Luard-Selby studied at the Leipzig Conservatorium under Reinecke and Jadassohn. He served as organist at St. Barnabas, Marylebone, and Highgate School (1876); Salisbury Ca­thed­ral (1881); St. John’s, Torquay (1884); St. Barnabas, Pimlico (1887); St. Andrew’s, Willesden Green; All Saints’, Norfolk Square; and Rochester Ca­thed­ral (1900–16). He was also Director of Music at Bradfield College, Berkshire (1916). He composed mostly organ music, but also wrote three sonatas, service music, large-scale chamber music, two operas and three cantatas.

  1. Adoration
  2. Eccles
  3. Ivyhatch
  4. Pentecost
  5. Praises
  6. Salve Festa Dies
  7. Splendor