Oc­to­ber 9, 1804, Clungunford, Shropshire, Eng­land.

Au­gust 10, 1867, West Bromwich, Eng­land.


After coming to Christ in 1825, Jukes was a lay speaker, then served as a Primitive Methodist minister for 32 years, retiring in 1859. Many of his texts appeared in 1862, in The Book That Will Cheer You: or, Hymns for the Living and the Dying. His biography, The Poet of Milton, by James Pritchard, appeared in 1868.

  1. Behold! Behold the Lamb of God
  2. By Faith I View My Savior Dying
  3. Come, Let Us All Unite to Sing
  4. I’m a Soldier Bound for Glory
  5. Jesus My Weary Soul Refreshes
  6. My Heart Is Fixed, Eternal God
  7. There Is a God Who Rules on High
  8. Will You Go?
  9. With Steady Pace the Pilgrim Moves