March 17, 1801, Plymouth, England.

June 23, 1847, Liverpool, England.

Son of an artist, Johns was educated at the local grammar school, by I. Worsley, a Unitarian minister in Plymouth, and afterward during two years spent at Edinburgh. In 1820, he became minister of the old Presbyterian chapel at Crediton, where he stayed until 1836, when he moved to Liverpool to serve as Minister to the Poor.

Johns wrote over 35 hymns, and was a frequent contributor to the Monthly Repository, Christian Reformer, and Christian Teacher. His other works include:

  1. Come, Kingdom of Our God
  2. Farewell, Our Blighted Treasure
  3. Great God, Avert from Us the Thought
  4. Hush the Loud Cannon’s Roar
  5. O Know Ye Not That Ye
  6. Thanks to God for These Who Came
  7. Thou Must Be Born Again