Vep Ellis

March 11, 1917, Oneonta, Alabama.

April 30, 1988, Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Memorial Park Cemetery, Tulsa, Oklahoma.


Ellis was the son of Evan Manson Ellis and Ollie Mary Dresser Campbell, and husband of Essie Mae Hardin. He has sung and written songs for Oral Roberts Ministries, and Gather Homecoming videos. Ellis is said to have written over 500 songs, and recorded 200 of them. He was inducted into the Southern Gospel Music Association’s Hall of Fame in 2001.

Ellis’ works include:

  1. All the Day Long
  2. Am I a Soldier of the Cross?
  3. Amen Corner, The
  4. At the End of the Trail
  5. Do You Know My Jesus?
  6. Expect a Miracle
  7. God Will Supply
  8. Heaven’s Joy Awaits
  9. Heavenly Love
  10. I Can’t Go Under
  11. I Have Been Born Again
  12. I Know He Heard My Prayer
  13. I Know My Savior Is There
  14. I Know the Lord
  15. If Jesus Is There
  16. I’ll Be True
  17. I’ll Sing of My Redeemer
  18. I’m Free Again
  19. I’m in a New World
  20. I’ve Got Nothing to Lose
  21. Jesus Fills My Every Need
  22. Jesus Holds the Keys
  23. Joyfully I’ll Travel On
  24. Last Mile of the Way, The
  25. Let Me Touch Him
  26. Let’s Build a Bridge
  27. Love of God, The
  28. Move with God
  29. Over the Moon
  30. My God Can Do Anything
  31. O Blessed Holy Spirit
  32. Praise God I’m Free
  33. Thanks to Calvary
  34. There Is a Change
  35. What Can He Do
  36. When He Calls I’ll Fly Away
  37. Wilt Thou Be Made Whole?