January 24, 1872, Blount County, Alabama.

July 10, 1933, Fort Worth, Texas.

Shannon Rose Hill Memorial Park, Fort Worth, Texas.


Rufus was the son of Joel Mosley Cornelius and Martha Jemima Murphree. He married Macon Burleson in 1895 in Ellis County, Texas, and had seven sons.

Cornelius worked in the music publishing business, and at one time, was an officer of the Eastern Ellis County Auxiliary Singing Convention. His works include:

  1. Are You Building on the Sand?
  2. God So Loved the World His Son Was Given
  3. In That Beautiful City That Is Built Above
  4. It’s Been Tried by Maine and Kansas
  5. O I Want to See Him
  6. O Jesus, Receive Me
  1. Any Kind of Weather Christians
  2. At the Cross
  3. At the Great Home-Coming
  4. At the Great Roll Call in Heaven
  5. Before the Bow Is Broken
  6. Do Your Best
  7. Don’t Forget That Promise to Mother
  8. Don’t Forget to Tell Somebody Else
  9. For You, for Me
  10. Go Dip in the Jordan of God’s Love
  11. Grace is Working Wonders
  12. He Will Give the Blessing
  13. His Heart Is So True to Me
  14. I Love Jesus Best of All
  15. I Told Jesus About It
  16. If I Stand on the Promises of God
  17. In the Happy Long Ago
  18. In the Shadow of Thy Wings
  19. It Was Just Like Jesus, My Friend
  20. It Was Love
  21. It Was Love for Me
  22. Jesus Rolls Every Burden Away
  23. Jesus Will Answer for Me
  24. Just You
  25. Keep the Love-Waves Rolling
  26. Keep Your Eyes on Jesus
  27. Let Me Get Nearer the Cross
  28. Look Away to Calvary
  29. Lord, I Know Not What To Do
  30. My Savior Traveled All the Way
  31. Nearer Still to Thee
  32. Never Alone Is the Christian
  33. No One Else Cares Like Jesus
  34. O I Want to See Him
  35. O Shout and Sing
  36. Over Lands That Lie in Darkness
  37. Redeemed Through Love
  38. Side by Side with Jesus
  39. Since Jesus Redeemed My Soul
  40. Skies Will Smile Again
  41. To Thee, Dear Lord, I Go
  42. What a Day That Will Be
  43. What Shall I Do with Jesus?
  44. When I Reach Home
  45. When Jesus Came Along My Way
  46. When the Heart Is Right
  47. When the Soul Finds Jesus
  48. When We Enter Heaven
  49. You Are the One
  50. You, Just You